The open country

On 1 January, the planning authority and land authority regarding the open country were transferred from the Government of Greenland to Qaasuitsup Municipality. See The Govenment Interest in the open country.

Guidelines and provisions for the open country relate primarily to the division into subareas and the adoption of overall provisions for these subareas. The provisions must ensure against unplanned land use in the open country.

The open country has been subdivided into the following areas:

  • K – Huts, holiday cottages etc.
  • L – Special recreational areas
  • M – Keeping of animals and agriculture (area for sheep farming, agriculture, aquaculture, forestry, dog islands etc.)
  • N – Technical supply plants and other infrastructure
  • O – Unbuilt areas.

While many of the subareas and associated provisions have been transferred directly from the national planning directive, a number of areas have been modified and new areas have been included in the town plan, including new K areas. The intention has been to foster new tourism development opportunities in the open country. Other strategic initiatives relate to the development of renewable energy projects and various experimental farming schemes.

General Provisions of the Town Plan

Provisions and subareas

The overall provisions for each subarea are the basis for the municipality's granting of area allotments and building permits.

loading image
Loading map...